Self-Reflected Coordinate

I’m going to post stuff so the site still looks alive.

Earlier, I was trying to foll0w instructions for how to make a snazzy PowerPoint in Microsoft word. For a computer class.

The instructions required us to get a background texture from Microsoft’s own little gamut of backgrounds.

They are still the ugly ones that Windows had in XP. Beiges, ugly stone brushstrokes…the brown fish one…

My teacher walked up to one of the students after he’d asked for her opinion. he had chosen a light-wooden background. My teacher remarked “That one’s ugly” … in a good-spirited manner….

An honest answer is like a kiss on the lips.   – King Solomon.

I used Urban style with a Module Color scheme.

The instruction manual wanted a canvas texture background.

I wasn’t going for public insult. I decided to change the background to a grey texture, changed every colored border I could access to Magenta/pink,  the font for “third-down levels of information to yellow, and when I had to add ClipArt, I went for yellow.

If I could have removed that bit of blue, I would have.

Why?

A revelation, an observation of sorts. I am still trying to figure this out.

Everyone has a sort of map, a color chart in their heads.

Every color has a meaning, everything we do for everything we do for life.

Teal is receiving, Red is gratuitous giving, and so on – there are many associations that I am not going to get into right now. (If you’re impatient, mmmm, try this.)

We see through this picture when we look at a mannequin, Someone’s shirt….

We have associations for complimentary colors to. Blue across yellow, “the sunny day” Teal across from brown – that delicious chocolate thing.

We look through our thoughts and the the possible coordinations of the additive color wheel, when we look at our world.

The problem is is that the coordinations are not always across, that is, 180 degrees across from each other.

The color combinations we are attracted to it could be adjacent (like yellow and orange), or split complementary(such as a brown  and several shades of cyan/teal.

What we choose as complimentary will have to do with where we see ourselves, physilogically, emotionally, where we are going and the sort. The Color Quiz seems to attest to this phenomena.

Complementary thought for Complimentary Colors.

But now there is something else going on these days: people are choosing colors of 90 degrees as  “complementary”.

There was this display at a Sears about a month ago. I don’t know if you saw this: All white mannequins, wearing ultraviolet blue wigs, wearing white shirts with decals  of black and a particular color that was halfway between Cyan and “Azure” not-quite blue. It was a very nice combination, from a non-idolatrous point of view

Why is that? Well, it looked pretty good. And it was in the teen’s department… hmmmm….

(White) Freedom of choice…. (Violet) Honor… (Azure) my desire… (Cyan) to be filled,

Go figure…

Well, ok, so maybe it wasn’t ninety degrees – but it was far from the straight-across complementation we are used to seeing.

I am aware of triads. But this could definitely be a split complimentary. Look:

It is almost exactly a split complimentary of yellow.

It looks like the Audience, (or the designer) seeks some sort of attachment.

….Oh, humbug…

…Well, if the medicine works on the doctor dedicated noob…

…But I’m gonna wait ’til I’m outta school. before I start worrying about “attachment”.

———-

Well, on a larger note, the question is if a preference for such color schemes is prevalent.

So, in other words, could I get away with?

  • Solid purple and cyan?
  • Magenta and a color like copper patina?
  • Hot pink and Emerald green?
  • How long will the person want to remain an Ophelia before she wants to switch color codes? Girls change a lot.
  • Could I pair a solid green with hot magenta and purple? what would this indicate?

The only way I could prove any of these would be a good test.

And then a good map of the other splits I can think about.

—–

Until then, I hope to read your comments!

